cellularpaster.blogg.se

How to crack spine of book
How to crack spine of book








  1. #How to crack spine of book how to#
  2. #How to crack spine of book crack#

These are just my personal views on different book tropes. This post was inspired by The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday topic for this week, even though it is Thursday. In references to points 4 and 5: I just hate books that sound like they are written by teenage boys during their “I just read Catcher in the Rye, Fight Club and Clockwork Orange and now my personality is 80% Tyler Durden” phase. Its development from an entirely obscure online publication to a respected forum featuring works by thousands of writers, poets, and.

#How to crack spine of book crack#

Dear Readers & Contributors of Crack the Spine, For over ten years now, this literary magazine has been the primary focus of my life. Yes people have sex and genitals, grow up. CRACK THE SPINE IS CLOSED FOR SUBMISSIONS. I am not a prude in any way but adding this stuff to be “edgy” is dumb and just leaves me asking why. (Yes I actually read that in a book once). Unnessecary Crudenessĭoes the vulgarity add to the plot, atmosphere of the novel or character? No? DONT PUT IT IN! Your book doesn’t need a random chapter that contains nothing but a masterbation scene in it if there is no point to it. This style of writing honestly makes me worry about the writer their skewed point of view on other people.

how to crack spine of book

You can’t care for a main character if they are a whiny, teenage bitch. The number of times I have seen a main character get annoyed because a stranger they dont know is just standing there “like they own the place” is ridiculous. How am I supposed to feel for characters who are just bitchy for no reason? I understand if that is the character’s personality, adds to the story or they are a villain, but does EVERY character have to be an asshole? It isn’t realistic. *cough* Stephen King and Gillian Flynn *cough* Why do some writers have to make all of their characters horrible people?! I get that people have their flaws but in some novels no one is likeable. Some writers are guilty of doing this constantly. The moment I spot the tiniest hint of this in a novel I automatically send it packing to the charity shop. And of course…She isn’t like “other girls”. She is usually in a relationship with a man she hated on first sight and spends her time obsessing over this unhealthy relationship to the point of making extremely dumb decisions. She is clumsy, except when it comes to forms of combat. She is BORING! The YA female lead is always “plain”, usually with “mousey” coloured hair but somehow gorgeous enough to have handsome boys fight over her.

#How to crack spine of book how to#

Ugh where do I start? I ranted about this quite a bit in my How to write a YA character post.

how to crack spine of book

A note to authors: There has to be something special about your chosen one they can’t have the personality of a wet dish cloth, which brings me to point number 3… 3. This worked in Harry Potter and The Hunger Games but sadly the popularity of those novels brought a wave of horrific novels in their wake featuring this trope. I dont mind a romantic subplot in a book but if that is all there is to the story I will quickly loose interest. It is boring, the characters are usually the same character tropes just repeated over and over, and the relationships are usually rather unhealthy and dramatic. Hate is a strong word, but I have a strong dislike for the romance genre. Here are a few of the things that will put me off a novel. We all have things that will automatically put us off a book.










How to crack spine of book